Home / North Dakota News / North Dakota Safety Council recognizes Champions for Safety

North Dakota Safety Council recognizes Champions for Safety

BISMARCK, N.D. — The North Dakota Safety Council (NDSC) recognized individuals who are champions for safety in their workplaces and communities at the 2016 Ceremony of Champions. The event took place Thursday, Feb. 4 from 11:15 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. in the Bismarck Event Center Exhibit Hall. Special guests included North Dakota Attorney General, Wayne Stenehjem, and WBI Energy Vice President of Operations, Jeff Rust.

“These award winners have demonstrated exceptional dedication to safety. It is our honor to recognize those who embody our mission of saving lives and preventing injuries across North Dakota,” said Chuck Clairmont, NDSC Executive Director.

The following awards were presented during the ceremony:

Duane Kuehn Outstanding Safety Professional:

The most prestigious of the NDSC’s awards, the Duane Kuehn Outstanding Safety Professional award, was presented to Dave Opp of Opp Construction in Grand Forks. This award is presented annually to an individual who has been instrumental in the development and implementation of safety programs that increase the safety of their organization or community.

NDSC Lifesaver Award:

The NDSC’s Lifesaver Award is presented annually to individuals who have acted above and beyond the call of duty to assist or rescue another individual. The following individuals were nominated and received the award: Alyssa Dollinger (Bismarck), Travis Erickson (Bismarck), Leland Olds First Response Team (Stanton), Breanna Nehl (Bismarck), Ryan Nelson (Grand Forks), Scott Parker (Saginaw, M.N.), Kevin Trowbridge (Fargo), Danielle Trowbridge (Fargo), and Joel Valadez (Minot).

Advanced Safety Certificate:

Four individuals were recognized for their completion of the Advanced Safety Certificate program. This program is designed to maximize a person’s effectiveness as a safety leader and help them establish safety best practices. Completion of this certificate program demonstrates their dedication to occupational safety excellence. The recipients are Donny Askvig (Des Lacs), Victoria Kreger (Williston), Joely Heavy Runner (Bismarck), and Derrick Miller (Minot).

The North Dakota Safety Council is a private non-profit organization supported through grants, donations, memberships and training. Our mission is to save lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, on the roads and in our homes and communities. With more than 1,000 member companies representing all sizes of all industries, the NDSC is an active participant in influencing safe practices across North Dakota.

In related news, More than 1200 gather to address workplace safety.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *