Home / Business / Industry leaders award $83K in scholarships
Getty Image/NewsCred

Industry leaders award $83K in scholarships

CORPUS CHRISTI — Flint Hills Resources and Koch Pipeline Company awarded scholarships to 62 South Texas students Monday.

Spokeswoman Darcy Schroeder said the scholarships are meant to help the petroleum industry “deepen (its) workforce.”

“It really allows kids to get excited about science and technology,” she said.

Fifty two high school students received $1,500 scholarships each to the colleges and universities of their choice and 10 Craft Training Center of the Coastal Bend students were awarded $500 scholarships.

“Skilled labor is vital for our workforce,” Schroder said of the center that focuses on training for entry level jobs in industry.

The recipients were chosen by their schools and qualifications for the scholarships include an above 3.5 GPA and intent to focus studies in a science, technology, engineering and math-related fields — collectively known as STEM, she said.

During the past 20 years, Flint Hills and Koch have awarded more than 600 students from more than 40 South Texas schools for their academic and athletic achievements. Thirty-three students received scholarships in 2014.

“There is tremendous value in continuing our support for local students,” Schroeder said.

In related news, Four oil giants giving back in big ways.



Shelby Barker, Aransas Pass High School

Pedro Elizondo, Aransas Pass High School

Jacob Sanchez, Branch Academy

Victoria Wahlen, Calallen High School

Kirsten Allen, Calallen High School

Gabrielle Lencioni, Carroll High School

Brandi Wenzel, Carroll High School

Celeste Escutia, Collegiate High School

Tyler Snell, Flour Bluff High School

Carson Dunbar, Flour Bluff High School

John Framey, Incarnate Word Academy

Andrea Tinning, Incarnate Word Academy

Brianna Hoffmann, Ingleside High School

Alexis Galjour, Ingleside High School

Victoria Lopez, King High School

Janeth Leon, London High School

Charles Hayden, London High School

Daniela Castro, Miller High School

Veronica Vera, Miller High School

Alexis Lemos, Moody High School

Brittany Martinez, Moody High School

Ivan Rodriguez, Odem High School

Micaela Villarreal, Odem High School

Kamren Mireles, Pope John Paul II High School

James Thomas, Pope John Paul II High School

Gina Barrera, Ray High School

Ryan Butler, Ray High School

Amy Griffiths, Ray High School

Brandon Clark, Robstown High School

Ariel Pena, Robstown High School

Abraham Depaz, Tuloso-Midway High School

Arthur Pena, Tuloso-Midway High School

Destiny Sanchez, West Oso High School

Miguel Zavala, West Oso High School


Natalie Juranek, Agua Dulce High School

Miranda Charles, Agua Dulce High School

Lucas Mora, Falfurrias High School

Mario Chavera, Falfurrias High School

Austin Hodnett, Gregory-Portland High School

Randy Garza, Gregory-Portland High School

Jacob Janysek, Karnes City High School

Morgan Kelley, Karnes City High School

Jose Cruz, Pettus High School

Ramiro Flores, Pettus High School

Alexandra Coscetti, Refugio High School

Henry “HC” Neel IV, Refugio High School

Hilario Garcia III, Santa Gertrudis High School

Anthony Montez, Santa Gertrudis High School

Dallas Hill, Sinton High School

Eric Espinoza, Sinton High School

Katie Hernandez, Taft High School

Joe Saldana, Taft High School


Nicholas Bluntzer, Banquete High School

Richard Gonzales, Banquete High School

Bruce Claudio, Flour Bluff High School

Cameron Dugas, Flour Bluff High School

Chandler Soldano, Flour Bluff High School

Brandon Casarez, King High School

William Richardson, King High School

Angelica Valdez, King High School

Gregory Padia, Miller High School

Abraham Betancour, Ray High School

This article was written by Beatriz Alvarado from Corpus Christi Caller-Times, Texas and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *